Mothers’ & Others’ Recipes

My most used recipe book would be a recipe book my Mum originally compiled when I got married; called “Mothers’ & Others’ Recipes.  It is full of tried and true recipes from her, my mother-in-law and others.  She has since made new editions; when my brother got married, when my best friend got married and when my sister-in-laws sister got married.

My most used page would be the one pictured below, as you can probably tell by the food spills on the page.rissole recipe

All three recipes on the page are used regularly and are recipes from my childhood.  I do tweak them to fit my families dietary requirements.  So I thought I would share my version of the rissoles recipe.

Rissoles

  • Servings: makes 8
  • Time: 30-40 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 500g beef mince
  • 1 dessert sp French onion soup powder

    Rissole with homemade fries and mayo

    Rissole with homemade fries and mayo

  • 25g quinoa flakes
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 1 tsp GF Worcestershire sauce
  • yellow maize flour to coat

Method

  1. Mix all ingredients except yellow maize flour together.
  2. Heat oil in fry pan
  3. Shape mixture into rissoles and coat in the maize flour.
  4. Fry for 15 to 20 minutes, turning once during cooking.

I usually serve my rissoles with vegetables.  They are also nice cooked on the BBQ and served with salad.

What tried & true family recipes do you use regularly?

4 thoughts on “Mothers’ & Others’ Recipes

  1. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 21 Sept | Feed My Family!

  2. Pingback: Quick Chilli Beef | Feed My Family!

  3. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 5 Oct | Feed My Family!

  4. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 1 Feb | Feed My Family!

Leave a Reply

