Porcupine Meat Balls

porcupines cooking

porcupines cooking

My son likes these porcupine meat balls, however my daughter is not so keen on them.  So when she wasn’t eating at home a few weeks ago I decided to make them.  I usually combine a couple of recipes to make my porcupines so I thought that I should record how I make them.  One recipe has cooked rice and one has uncooked rice, I usually use uncooked rice and they soak up much of the liquid as they cook.  One cooks them in the oven & the other on the stove, since the stove top method is quicker I usually do it that way.  One recipe had

Porcupines & veggies.

Porcupines & veggies.

evaporated milk and the other eggs, I use eggs.  Both used tinned tomato soup which I’m a bit iffy about using for my husband because of the ingredients, so I use a tin of tomato puree instead.

Here is my recipe:

Porcupine Meat Balls

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 500g beef mince
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 1/2 tsp dried herbs
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 410g can tomato puree
  • 1 cup water

Method

  1. Mix mince, egg, rice, herbs, salt & pepper together.
  2. Mix the water with the tomato puree in a large saucepan and start to bring the mixture to the boil.
  3. Form the meat into balls and drop into the tomato puree.
  4. Cover the saucepan with a lid and cook gently for 30 minutes.
  5. Serve with vegetables

What sort of meat balls do you like?

2 thoughts on “Porcupine Meat Balls

  1. Pingback: Last Week’s Menu – 26 September | Feed My Family!

Leave a Reply

